A Book Everyone Considering Homeschool Needs to Read

October 12, 2014 at 11:26 pm Leave a comment

 

The Book A Thomas Jefferson Education is a must read if you are concerned with the educational system in the US right now.  When I was researching different forms of homeschooling, I Googled “Thomas Jefferson Education” (TJEd),  and a few bad reviews came up so I ruled it out. Then I heard a webinar from the founders of TJEd and I loved what they had to say.  I have come to find that there are as many different homeschool’s are there are homes and you really have to find what is right for you no matter what someone else says about any other method or curriculum so don’t go off someone else’s review.  Research. Know your values, your budget, why you are homeschooling, and then find a method/curriculum that goes along with it.

Having said that I urge everyone to read this book.  Even if you don’t follow the method 100% it will give you a really good insight on education.  Instead of being a teacher that forces your kids (if you are a parent or a school teacher) to do their work.  You are a mentor that guides and inspired your child to educate themselves.  You use classic books and what your child is interested in to guide them along.  I felt like this method makes SO MUCH SENSE.  The more you can apply what you are learning to life, the more interested you are in what you are learning about, the more retention you are going to have. I’m just starting to understand how homeschool does not have to look like public school in the least and your kids (and you) will get a better education for it.

I’m not very good (yet) at expounding upon something so I’ll just say READ THIS BOOK and I hope it speaks to you like it did to me.

http://www.amazon.com/Thomas-Jefferson-Education-Generation-Twenty-First/dp/1615399917/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1413180870&sr=8-1&keywords=a++thomas+jefferson+education

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts. Tags: , .

A Choice to Kick out an old “Frienemy” For all those older, wiser folk who stop me in the store

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


