The Real Reason the End of Pregnancy Sucks

January 5, 2014 at 4:58 pm 3 comments

For me at least, it isn’t feeling uncomfortable, or lack of energy, or sleep, or feeling unattractive, that really gets me down.  It is the MIND GAME of when-is-baby-going-to-get-here that drives my up the freaking wall.  All day I have been comparing it to a kid at Christmas time.

CIMG0611

This was taken unknowingly not long before I went into labor with Ahnna, 2 days over due date.

CIMG0641

Baby Ahnna

Christmas is SO EXCITING and you just can’t wait.  The problem with this Christmas is you don’t really know what day it is going to fall on.  You have a ball park idea but it could get here as early as two weeks before or as late as two weeks after the estimated date.  You don’t want to start hoping it might be early but dude, it is CHRISTMAS so you can’t help but think everyday “maybe it WILL be early, that would be so awesome! I’d get to see my presents early!!”

As time passes you just want to do what you can to stop thinking about it because the more you think about it the harder it is to wait (especially since it might get here early.)  Then other people who are also excited ask “oh when is Christmas coming?” or say “You haven’t had Christmas yet?” Or ,”oh man it sure looks like Christmas will be here any day!”  It’s ok, they love Christmas too and you know that they are just happy to see that Christmas is looking closer and closer (and might come early.)

CIMG1285

I have NO pregnant photos with Isaac that I can find. I fail. He was one week early.

The kicker question though is “how are you feeling?” This is a loaded question.  For a kid who heard 10 months ago that Christmas was coming and started counting the weeks and is WAY too hopeful that it might come a little early, the real answer is “OUT OF MY MIND WITH ANTICIPATION” but you want to look calm and cool because you’ve had Christmas many times before and you know it WILL come so you know how to handle it.  Nope! Everyday you find out Christmas is not today you feel a little more out of your mind and completely discouraged.  Especially when you feel, yes, Christmas really looks like it is happening right now. Call your mom, pack your bag, we are going to Grandma’s house! (i.e. hospital) Then just when you let yourself get totally excited that this is it, you find out someone lied to you and it isn’t time after all.

wendy24

Summer belly at 32 maybe 33 weeks

Summer 2011 019

Here she is! (also one week early)

 

That, my friends, is how it feels right now.  Just need to try and forget about it, relax, enjoy my sleep, be happy with this time, blah blah blah. To that I say HA!  Have you seen a kid not think about Christmas on Christmas eve?  Every day feels like it could be Christmas eve.

WSP_2426

New baby at 38 weeks (who hopefully will also be born a week early which would be this Tuesday)

Looking through these made me see I’ve successfully had a different hair color with every kid haha

Entry filed under: The Family, Wendy's Posts. Tags: , , , .

Healing cavities without dental work update Today is the Day

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Becky  |  January 5, 2014 at 6:01 pm

    hooray for Christmas time now tell it to get its butt here! good luck wendy!

    Reply
  • 2. motherhoodandmusic  |  January 5, 2014 at 7:15 pm

    You are so right! I remember when I was pregnant with Montgomery. I was planning on being late because my mom went way over with all of her pregnancies, but my doctor mentioned he could come any time once I hit 37 weeks. I was so mad he said anything! Finally I spent the two days before Montgomery was born doing a scripture study on patience. It actually helped a lot more than I thought it would. Hang in there! I hope it all goes well for you!

    Reply
  • 3. Dorese  |  January 5, 2014 at 10:41 pm

    I love the comparison to Christmas. I also love how you don’t complain about any of the “normal” complaints, when you carry your babies so large. Fingers crossed for early!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


