Zero Fillings Needed!

May 20, 2013 at 10:32 pm 1 comment

Second Opinion

I got a second opinion in Spokane on my cavities that needed filling today.  This is a dentist I went to long before and I didn’t realize then how AMAZINGLY WONDERFUL he is.  As I was reading the Cure Tooth Decay book, it listed qualities to look for in a good dentist and his name came to my mind with every point they mentioned.  He is all about prevention and he uses technology I don’t find anywhere else.  He takes his time to make sure fillings and such are done well.

At the clinic I usually go to, they did the normal routine of take some x-rays, poke around, and then give me their conclusion of “you need 3 fillings and it will take two appointments and you need to floss more.” This is where I would always get frustrated because I felt like no one believed me when I would say “I floss everyday, I use a Sonicare toothbrush, and I rinse with flouride mouthwash.  What else can I do?”  The response is usually don’t eat sugar and some people are just more prone to decay and it is just tough to always have to get fillings.

When I went in, there was a decal on the wall with the famous quote “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you will feed him for a lifetime.”  I love that he sees his work this way. First we talked about my diet and what I was doing already.  He used a laser to see where the bacteria was in my mouth. He said he could see that I was making some great efforts and he gave me some great tips and things to do that will also help out.  Right now I don’t need ANY fillings and I’m going back to check progress in three months. 😀  There is one that was a filling that was not bonded correctly that will need to be changed but he said for now it is protecting the spot under it where we are trying to heal it up and it is not a problem for now.  After the new dentin has formed, he will go in and make a good filling.

My diet – keeping it real

I understand now that my diet before was unsustainable because I would have to be in the kitchen FOREVER.  So I’m going to eat clean and home make what I can.  I’m good and making yogurt and bone broth and both are great for you. I’m staying away from all things sugar unless it is an occasional homemade treat with real organic cane sugar a.k.a Rapidura (way different than what you find in stores and good flavor)

Vitamins

C, K2, B12 Complex, Fermented cod liver oil/butter oil blend, niacin (the flush kind, if you take it two or three times a day, the flush stops)

Dr’s orders

brush twice a day with hydrogen peroxide, diluted half with water

brush once a day with baking soda to change the PH in your mouth

sometimes take a dry toothbrush and slowly poke around and brush each tooth to look for spots that bleed.  This is how you find spots you are missing when you brush.

Since I have all but stopped sugar my mood has been much better and I have a lot more energy.  I used to drink a pop to “get through” the last part of the day and now I don’t need it and I defiantly don’t WANT it.  The thought of that much sugar sounds unpalatable.  I tried eating some cookies and cream ice cream with the family a few days ago and I ate about half a small serving before I gave it to Ahnna.  Eating clean is as much about my teeth as it is with the rest of me.  I’ve been wanting to learn to eat healthy for a long time.  I’m happy this was the push to get me to do it.  I really want to take care of myself and teach my kids the same over time.

Entry filed under: Projects, Wendy's Posts. Tags: , , .

Healing my Cavities Update Vacation Part 1

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rhiannon  |  May 21, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    So the big question: who’s the Spokane dentist?! And good job, by the way!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


