An experiment, Healing My Cavities Instead of Filling.

April 15, 2013 at 5:02 pm 3 comments

cartoon_of_a_sad_tooth_with_pain_from_a_cavity_0515-1103-0816-1328_SMU

I have very decay prone teeth.  It has been that way since I got braces as a teenager.  Before that I didn’t have many problems but since, especially in the last 6 years it has just been really bad.  I brush, I floss, I use mouth wash.  I go to the dentist and they tell me that I need to brush, floss, and use mouthwash more.  I get VERY discouraged every six months when I go and hope maybe this time I won’t need a bunch of fillings.

Well last Monday I had another exam and they said I needed some fillings fixed and some new filings AGAIN.  As I was in a poor mood after I got home, Nathan pointed out that we were doing the same thing over and over, expecting a different outcome, the DEFINITION of insanity.

Not. Any. More.

I decided to tell the dentist to fix the fillings that need to be redone and leave the new ones alone.  Why? We have been doing some research, and your teeth, like the rest of the bones in your body, can heal themselves.  The problem is that we need to create an environment in our mouth to allow this to happen.  With the diet people generally have, they do not create a healing friendly place in their mouth.There are a few different methods people use to help make a better environment and I decided I’m going to go a little nuts and do absolutely everything I can to change things in my mouth. It is an experiment and some people are a little nervous that I’m going to let a cavity be and not get it fixed but  I just can’t go on like I have before. I only have so much tooth enamel to drill on before it is all gone. I figured this is the perfect opportunity to see if this works or not.

cartoon_of_a_happy_tooth_holding_a_toothbrush_0515-1103-0816-1403_SMU

Diet

No sugar, nothing processed. This is the most drastic step and I’m halfway doing it for general health too.  This includes no grains which contribute to tooth decay and no artificial sweeteners which are just REALLY bad for you.

What I can eat are lots of veggies, meat, low to moderate amounts of fruit, small amounts of honey, good and natural oils like coconut, butter, and almond butter. I’m staying away from dairy unless it is organic grass fed raw milk.  Basically everything fresh is good to eat and if it is in some kind of bottle, it must have ingredients I can pronounce that go along with the diet. I realize I’m taking this over the extreme I need to heal my teeth.  A low sugar diet is probably all I would need to do but I decided to take it to the next level because I tend to be an all or nothing person.  If I allow a little of it, I know I’m going to end up eating a whole package of Oreo’s one day and I just don’t want to go there.  I’ve been wanting to go to a fresh, raw, chemicle free diet for a long time.  This was just the push I needed to do it.

Vitamins

This is where a lot of the healing comes from.  I’m taking supplements that are important for bone health, including vitamin C, D,  K2, and cod liver oil.  Another supplement important for teeth is vitamin A which I’m not taking a because I get enough from juicing vegetables that we do everyday anyway.

Vitamin K2 is really important because it directs calcium and vitamins to bond to your teeth. It is quite key in this, if you want to improve your dental health, the LEAST you can do is K2 and cod liver oil.

It has been almost a week and even if it does nothing for my teeth (which I would be very surprised if it didn’t) I feel amazing.  I  was really heavy on the grains before and now that I’m not, I have lots of energy and I’m generally happy.  Before I felt like I was on the verge of depression and I would feel tired by noon. It could be coincidence or something but only time will tell.  It is still really early. I will plan on having another dental exam in about two months and see if there is any progress. From what I could tell, it should only take a month to make sure everything is healed up but I just want to be extra sure I gave it enough time.

Entry filed under: Projects, Wendy's Posts. Tags: , , .

Easter (Finally) Healing my Cavities Update

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  April 15, 2013 at 5:22 pm

    I will eagerly be awaiting your results!

    Reply
  • 2. corinne  |  April 15, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    I too ant wait to know your results!! I have horrible teeth too. I have also read that brushing your teeth with coconut oil and baking soda is really good and that the coconut oil has quit a bit of healing power in it!

    Reply
  • 3. Stephanie  |  April 16, 2013 at 9:23 am

    Okay so I have a question or two… What does a normal meal plan look like for you? Also how do you feed your family… are your kids eating the same diet you are? Do you have any sites you recommend for recipes that meet the requirements you set above?? I have been seriously contemplating trying to change our diets to something along these lines for a long time… I am just not sure where to begin 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


