Baby Fix! and A Little Self Critique

February 3, 2013 at 6:43 pm Leave a comment

I was so excited to go do my first baby shoot I could hardly sleep the night before!  The Giles were amazing, I brought my kids along who played with their kids.  I pretty much took over the room we were shooting in and they were so accommodating.  I learned A TON from doing this.  I know the next one is going to be 50 times better.

Biggest things I learned:

1. Keep the baby REALLY warm.

I thought I was doing it enough but he wouldn’t really fall asleep and stay that way until near then end when we really made sure he was toasty.  This is VERY important if you want to pose the baby at all.  So this time he is in his happy little spot for most pics.

2. Bring a step ladder.

I”m short, and I’m always thinking about moving around to get a good shot, but it didn’t occur to me until I was looking at the photos afterwards that I was just too short to get the right angle with the mama and baby pictures so a step stool needs to go in my equipment.

3. Slow down and think about each frame

I took a ton of photos but looking at them in post, a good part of them were sloppy and not framed very well. So slowing down and thinking “what do I want THIS picture to capture” instead of “take a ton from a bunch of different points and hope a few come out well.” Think about the edges and angle more.

Here are my favorites from the day

TGiles12-share
TGiles1-share

TGiles2-share

TGiles4share

TGiles5-share

TGiles10-share

TGiles16-share

CGiles-share

Had some fun with the other kiddos while baby was getting a snack. I just LOVE this one!

JGiles-share

This is his tough look

 

MGiles-share

Just love her eyes!

 

 

 

Entry filed under: Photography, Wendy's Posts.

Last weeks happenings Bowling and Dog “Attack”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Most Recent Posts


