Thoughts on Weight Juxtaposed to Good Health

January 23, 2013 at 9:46 am 2 comments

This is just my thoughts this morning on something I find frustrating.

Ever since Tough Mudder I had not been consistently working out.  I MIGHT have made it there once a week MAYBE.  Great things happened too.  I was eating whatever I wanted and I lost 10 lbs.

I know exercise and eating good things prevent almost all health problems.  My biggest fear in life is having my body breakdown before I’m ready, or to be in chronic pain.  I have to do everything I can to prevent that.

So I’ m getting back on track again and I almost instantly have gained all the 10 lbs back.  It shouldn’t be a big deal because I know it is muscle.  My clothes fit great so I know it is good weight.  The problem is, I can tell my brain that all day but the idea that “less is better” that has been pounded into my head drives me insane!

Weight is not a huge insecurity for me. I’m not fishing for compliments by any means.  I just wish real measures of health were pushed more than just weight and BMI.  Both can be misleading and BMI is just a load of crap.  My conclusion? Stop getting on the scale in the first place! It is just frustrating and disheartening.  I need to go by clothing size or just not worry about it at all and focus on small goals at the gym.  If I’m reaching goals there, there is no way I’m going to be looking frumpy.

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

New Camera! Today’s Photos of the Day

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tiffany  |  January 23, 2013 at 12:56 pm

    I agree. The cross fit guy here in town talks about improving performance, and not going for looks.

    Reply
  • 2. jacqui  |  January 23, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    I threw my scale away in the dumpster,because I was driving myself crazy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


