Nathan’s Crash

June 14, 2012 at 8:00 am 3 comments

 

It started out like a normal day.  It was Nathan’s turn to drive to Mattawa, I dropped him off at work where he picks up a company car to drive out there. I came home, did some stuff for the kids, put Summer down for her morning nap and hopped in the shower.  Ahnna came in later holding my phone saying daddy wanted to talk to me.  I thought “meh it can wait till I’m done I’ll call him back.”  It crossed my mind something might be wrong but I really didn’t pay much attention to that thought.  I think it almost every time he drives out there.

Then Ahnna came in again with my MIL on the phone.  This time I thought “Ok something is up, what is going on.” By the tone in her voice, I anticipated my MIL’s words before she spoke them.  That Nathan had been in a car accident.

 

 

She did not have any details but knew that he was generally OK and told me he called her so she could help try to get a hold of me.  I called him up and his boss had taken him to the doctor’s clinic in Matawa to get checked out.   What happened was there was a huge dump truck full of mud that Nathan was coming up behind.  He thought the trucks flashers were on and it was pulling to the side so he was going to pull around it.  He realized too late the it was not flashers, the truck was turning left.  He hit the back of the truck going 57 MPH.
After it happened Nathan was thinking well enough to call all the right people and he really felt he did not need an ambulance and just wanted a ride to the clinic instead of the ER.

He got checked out and even though he had bumps, scraps, and bruises, there was no internal bleeding or concussion or anything.  He was QUITE sore for the rest of the week but he is on the mend.

 

What I find amazing about this accident

 

There isn’t a single crack in a windshield.

 

Thank you Honda engineers.  You saved Nathan’s life.

The engine curled under the car just like it was suppose to.  The cab buckled just enough for him to hit his knees and he is 6′ 2″.  Also I think he recovered well because he is in really good shape.  I think if there was someone else in that seat who was his same height and weight, but made up of fat instead of tons of muscle like he is, would have had a much harder time.

I’m so thankful I still have a complete husband.  There are so many things that could have been worse that I have thought about.  I’m thankful to God that he didn’t take him away and also kept him free of any real horrible damage.

 

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

Birthday Boy! Awesome things about Isaac

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeremy  |  June 14, 2012 at 8:09 am

    CRAZY!

    Reply
  • 2. Stefanie Giles  |  June 14, 2012 at 8:39 am

    We are thankful too!

    Reply
  • 3. Andrea Jones Spinelli  |  June 14, 2012 at 9:51 am

    Tears…I am so grateful to my Heavenly Father one that he is alive and two he is not hurt anymore then he is. I was so tormented inside those first few days but couldn’t let you guys know what I was feeling. Just a mom thing. So, so grateful for how things turned out for such a horrible accident. I just pray things continue to go in a positive direction. Love you all so much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


