Ya don’t mess with happy

March 18, 2012 at 11:22 pm 2 comments

A question we have got a lot over the past almost 2 years is “So are you guys staying here or leaving when Nathan’s contract is up?”  Our answer has always been “We’ll see”  Well I am announcing right now we have decided to stay here.  Yes there are some things about living here that can get to me, but, there is always going to be something you don’t like about anywhere you live.

For the most part we are really happy.  We have good friends and a nice neighborhood. Nathan has a really good job for a pharmacist who wants a family life.  The biggest factor is the job.  It would be hard to find a job that would match how good it is for him there.  We felt very led in coming here and if we left a job that was really good I think we would be kicking ourselves and wondering why we ever left perfect Othello.

The only thing that makes me sad about living here is not being close enough to family.  I’m laying on the pressure of getting SOMEONE to move here but it isn’t the most attractive town so convincing is a bit difficult.  Even though it isn’t pretty, it is right for us and we are happy, and you don’t mess with happy.

This does not mean you will not be spared any rants about shopping day.  Shopping day is still hard and I long to live closer to SOMETHING sometimes but I have adjusted for the most part and really we are saving a lot of money in gas and buying stuff that would be spur of the moment buying.  Seriously if I think of something we need to get I right it down and since I HAVE to wait until the next shopping day to actually go get it, I often times will think we don’t really need it and strike it off the list.

Just because I feel like counting my blessings on this Sabbath Day, I want to list all the things I like about living here in no real order.

  1. I have good friends.
  2. I live 5 minutes (at the most) from anywhere else in town
  3. No traffic (which means no grumpy husband at the end of the day, Spokane traffic REALLY got to him)
  4. Nathan can walk to work
  5. I get the same front parking spot at Walmart all the time.
  6. Live in a good ward
  7. Lots of sunny days
  8. Many opportunities to do real service
  9. Cheap ice cream shop
  10. Kids have good friends
  11. Eggs for $1.50 a flat (that’s 2.5 dozen, woot!)
  12. People who help each other
  13. Feeling like everyone knows everyone.
  14. A never busy play place at Burger King
  15. Getting free fresh produce from people giving it away at the pharmacy.

I’m sure there is more.  I’ve been mad before that I like this place. I was hoping it wouldn’t happen, that we would be able to leave and go somewhere with family and store selection as soon as our time was up.  This is not the case.  Now that I have excepted it, it feels nice to have decided.

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

Back to Blogging Kid Fun!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stefanie  |  March 19, 2012 at 9:13 am

    We are glad you made the decision to stay! There is one more thing you need to add to your list, the constant smell of French fries wafting through your backyard! :))

    Reply
  • 2. Stacey  |  March 21, 2012 at 10:00 am

    I enjoyed this post Wendy. I am glad you have found peace with your decision. I guess that’s how it happens, once you know and accept that answer the peace comes. Jeff and I are in a similar boat as you guys. Will we be moving after our 3 years is up? We don’t know. We haven’t found or maybe accepted the answer yet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


