Praise for Well Deserving Parents

February 23, 2012 at 3:26 pm 2 comments

My parents and all my siblings.This picture was taken just a few weeks after I found out I was pregnant with Isaac.

I got a new dishwasher !!  I know my life is THAT exciting.  But seriously, dishwashers are important.  I was telling my mom the little tricks I needed to do to get the dishwasher to make it through a wash and she offered us their old (not old) dishwasher!   They switched to stainless steel a while ago and their white one has just been hanging out in their shop.  So not only did they bring it out here for us but my dad installed it.  Who has the best parents ever?  That’s right me.

My mom kept saying how she wished it was a better one, they got a bottom of the line model because they thought they were selling the house.  Please.  My dishwasher had one propeller…. this one has three… that right there makes it WAY better.

These two are the most giving people I know.  Something that keeps coming to my mind lately is one time, when I had just graduated high school and waiting to go to college in the fall, I got this boyfriend.  He was a LOT older than me, he had been married once already and even had a kid.  Not that there is anything wrong with people who go through a divorce, this guy had just had a lot of life experience for an 18 year old girl.  The point is, from the parental point of view, I can see how it might be a little unsettling to have your last little girl, who is on the verge of going out on her own and make all her own decisions, decide on a 26 year old guy…  In a band…  With a seasonal job and no real long term goals.

Despite all of this.  His car broke down and while he was at work with the company vehicle, my parents and I secretly went to his house, and they fixed it for him.  He came back on his lunch break, which we were not expecting so he saw them working away and he said to me, “your parents are amazing, no really you don’t understand.”  He just kept telling me I had no idea.  To the point where I was annoyed.  I understood then and I still feel like I understood then how service oriented my parents are and how lucky I am.  They have set quite the example and they always taught us that if you want to grow closer to God, you serve his children.  I hope I can set that kind of example for my kids.

Entry filed under: The Family, Wendy's Posts.

Epic Fail Sleep – More of an optional thing

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stefanie  |  February 23, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    Having been born of goodly parents….!

    Reply
  • 2. Mimi  |  February 24, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    It’s time for a new family picture!!!! That was eons ago! Yes, I totally agree, your parents are great examples! They are always serving and helping. I remember thinking one time that I would never ever be able to repay them for all they have done, so I guess we try to pay it forward! I never knew you dated a 26 year old. Your parents are also very patient and loving, muahaha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Most Recent Posts


