Day 15 – His Eye is on the Sparrow

January 16, 2012 at 12:09 am 1 comment

Sometimes simple tasks in life give you a better understanding of the eternal scheme of things.  I am the secretary in the kids organization from ages 3-12 called “Primary.”  When I first started I barely knew anyone’s name or who their parents were.  I had to ask the pianist  who sat in the back with me who each kid was each week when I took attendance.  Eventually, of course, I learned everyone’s name and was able to do it on my own.  I also came to know who attended all the time, some of the time, or not at all.  I know this sounds really boring but stay with me on this.  These kids are not just names I keep track of.  I now know their families and who they like to sit by in Primary.  I have been impressed with their growth over the short time I have been in there.  In presidency meetings we talk about the needs of the children and what we can do for them, including the ones who are not there.

Why am I writing about this? Because when I am just a participant in something like Primary when I was a kid or Relief Society, the women’s organization, I didn’t understand how much the leadership of that organization cares about the stewardship they have been given.  It truly makes me happy to see a kid in Primary that I’ve had to mark absent for months.  I’m glad that I know each of them by name.

All of these things makes me think about how God knows and loves each one of us. This is something I have struggled with in the past.  How can God even know my name when there are billions of people out there?  Well I didn’t know I could come to care about 60 kids.  But I do, and I know each of them by name.  It makes me sad when they are not there, and happy to hear them sing.  This simple little calling has given me just a little more understanding of God’s love for us.

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

Day 14 – Pretzel Bite Night! Day 16 – Crafty Gift

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stefanie Giles  |  January 16, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    My sentiments exactly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


