Day 13 – 72 Hour Kits

January 13, 2012 at 4:19 pm 3 comments

This is what Ahnna and I did during nap time today.  The food part of our 72 hour kits is done! So I know there are tons of different ways to do 72 hour kits.  The one the Food Storage Made Easy people focused on was the food part.  I think I am going to get everyone a backpack so I can also include things like a change of clothes and stuff.  They said the bast place to store this is in your car.  I don’t know about anyone else, but if I stored this in my van I would not have room for anything else.  I didn’t even buy as much water as was suggested.  I have 4 liters per person and they suggested 6.  I think we would survive just fine.  Especially since we have little people.  So this is going in the garage in an easy-to-get-to spot if we every have to leave in a hurry.  We have other essentials in our car already.

This inspired a yearly tradition that I heard of someone else doing.  Once a year while watching General Conference (a broadcast my church does twice a year) we break out the 72 hour kits and eat them up so we can put in fresh food and a bigger change of clothes for the growing ones.

Entry filed under: Projects, Wendy's Posts.

Day 12 – Emergency Preparedness Day 14 – Pretzel Bite Night!

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


