Day 10 – Cursed

January 10, 2012 at 12:38 pm 2 comments

I hate my teeth. I got some work done this morning and cried on the way back.  Half out of frustration and half out of shame.

Frustration: I have really hard teeth to take care of.  It dates back to my great grandmother whose teeth just dissolved in her mouth and she had what was left of them pulled out and got dentures in her 20’s.  The bad teeth genes are slowly getting better with each generation.  My brother has it the worst.  If he brushes with a Sonicare brush, flosses and rinses with Listerine at least twice a day he does fine.  He couldn’t get braces as a teenage because his teeth would not survive them.  He did just recently get braces (he is 31 now) but he has dentist appointments once a month to make sure all it well.

I don’t have it nearly as bad as him but I need to be really careful about never missing brushing or flossing.  Ever since I got my braces off at 16 my teeth have been super sensitive to hot cold and sweet.  Anything gummy is the worst (shudder).

Shame:  It is still all my fault that I have to get a huge amount of work done.  I KNOW my teeth need lots of care.  Still, if I don’t have regular cleanings, I don’t have that accountability I need to keep me on top of things.  I start using a regular toothbrush because Nathan does and it is easier and a whole lot cheaper (until I need dental work done).  I stop using Listerine twice a day because I can’t taste anything if I do and eventually I don’t use it at all. I start flossing once a day.  Eventually is it two years and one pregnancy (babies take their toll)  since my last cleaning and I am only taking care of them like there is nothing wrong with them.  Result – a mouthful of cavities and a well meaning dentist telling me to floss when I can.  I think I can count on one hand how many days I did not floss since my last appointment.  I don’t say anything because it wouldn’t make a difference and the evidence of a poorly maintained mouth is right there in front of him.

Nathan amazes me.  He misses everything plenty of times, enough to make me nervous about his dental health.  He has had a cleaning twice since we have been married and his teeth are perfectly fine.

Now that we are settled in one place and I understand how Othello’s clinic does their dental system (way different than anywhere else) I have a new resolve to make sure we get the whole family’s teeth checked out every six months.  June is the month! I cannot miss!  I can’t just schedule the appointments that far out here either (frustrating) but I WILL remember.   I have that painful reminder again that I need to stay on top of this stuff.

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

Day 9 – Vacation Day 11 – Trying New Things

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  January 10, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    I am right here with you in the cursed category… my teeth are terrible, and impossible to keep healthy because they are so weak. Thanks for sharing, it is nice to know I am not the only one who has this issue!

    Reply
  • 2. corinne purnell  |  January 10, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    I totally feel your pain, I have horrible teeth and already have had two crowns and two root canals, and way to many cavaties filled to count! I hate it! And to make matters worse I have horrible night mares about my teeth breaking all of the time, because its happened to me three times! And of course Jarom has never even have a cavity in his life…grrrr

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


