No Sew Felt Banner Tutorial

November 7, 2011 at 10:51 am 1 comment

Some call it banners, some call it bunting, whatever it is you can do it without sewing and for really cheap.  Mine was the Tangled style banners but you can do whatever theme you want.

I did not realize how much it would actually make when I bought fabric for this project.  I got 2 yards of purple felt, made a pattern I just cut out of normal paper, made sure the felt was folded in half as perfectly as possible and started cutting out triangles 2 at a time.  After doing the math of how many triangles I had at 6 inches across at the top, I found I had 195 FEET of triangles.  Yeah, WAY more than I thought I would have which was great news.

Download the Triangle Pattern Here

For the sun’s I used the “Just Because Cards” cartridge on my cricut to cut them all out.  This was the longest process of all.  I didn’t cut them out myself but the cricut is not exactly fast either and I could only do three at a time on a 6″x12″ sheet.  Then I just used a dot of hot glue and glued them all the the center of the triangles.  That went really fast.

Then I cut out the yellow strips.  I wanted the banners to be 8 feet in length and since I didn’t want to sew I took the not-so-cost-efficient route of getting 8 feet of yellow felt.  If you don’t mind them being shorter, you can save money here. I had a ton of felt left over. I think the width of the fabric is 5 feet, so that is a good size strand there too.

If you have a rotary cutter and mat, this part is easy but I don’t.

It is not a usual thing to use a square and a level with fabric but let me explain. First I laid out the fabric flat and then folded it in the 8 foot direction until it was a length that was manageable. I do some woodworking so if I need a straight line my first thought is to go for my square. I marked 2 inches in on top and bottom and then used my level for a straight edge that I marked with a Sharpie.  This actually ruined the sharpie but it worked great.

Next I just got out the hot glue and glued it all together.  The black from the sharpie is barely visible and you can even make sure it is one the inside of the strip so you can’t see it at all.

I used a few dots to glue the triangle halfway up on the strip and then another few dots to glue down the top half of the strip on top the triangle to make it look more finished, and then you are done!  This was actually a fairly quick process as well.  So there you go! No sew bunting – or banners – or whatever. And the best part is it only cost me about $10 in felt and I made A TON.

Entry filed under: Projects, Wendy's Posts. Tags: , , , .

What I’ve Learned about Cake Keep The Change

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mimi  |  November 7, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    AWESOME!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


