Summer Cooking

July 17, 2011 at 8:08 pm 2 comments

I love grilling! There is nothing better than throwing any type of food on the grill and reaping the rewards after. And you can literally grill just about anything. If you can throw it in a pan or in the oven, it can be grilled. I’m posting this for anyone who is getting bored with the same ol’ thing, even if grilled, in hopes that your summer may be tastier.

First, be inventive. I don’t consider myself a gourmet chef, but I think I can make some culinary delights. And for every dish I make that’s tasty, I probably have 4-5 that ended up horrible or at least substandard.

Second, don’t be afraid to grill whatever. I know (but haven’t yet tried) you can grill pizza. That’s right, pizza!

Third, desserts on the grill can be a wonderful alternative to other more traditional sweet treats.

Now for some examples from the last two days.

1st: Grilled Lettuce Salad

Any lettuce can be used, including regular old iceberg or romaine is good too. cut it into halves or fourths and put on med-high heat until it is nice and brown. A little charred is ok too. When it’s done take off and set aside. In a bowl mix some plain greek yogurt, feta cheese, bacon bits (the real ones) and some pepper. Drizzle some olive oil on the lettuce on then spread liberally the mix on top. Delicious!

This is more or less what it looks like.

Next Grilled peaches!

Cut peaches in half and take out the pit. Put them on the grill flesh down until they are soft and hot. Flip over and put some brown sugar in the pit dip and then sprinkle some cinnamon on top. Allow to sit for another couple minutes. The juice should come up and mix with the sugar to make a small pool of awesome deliciousness! Take off the grill and put on some whipped cream or eat as is. I’m telling ya it’s like peach pie without the crust. Wonderful!

Lastly, grilled veggies are wonderful. I know that I’ve used that word now a couple of times but it fits. Take some walla walla sweet onions, cut them into rings and slap them on the heat till slightly brown and “sweating”. I like putting asparagus in a bag with olive oil, salt, and garlic and coating them, then slapping them on the grill till nice and soft. Red bell peppers can be cooked till black on all sides, then let them cool a bit and peel of the skin. If black it will come right off and then slice. They can be put into salads or just eaten as is. I also use them in Romesco Sauce, which is Spanish, but I’ll save that for another post. I also like doing grilled leaks chopped up in the yogurt sauce I talked about above and serving that as a side with cut steak. (Always remember to cut against the grain). Grilled zuchini is great if cut lengthwise and then some parmesan cheese and italian bread crumbs added on top. Delicious!

I would go on and on but my post tend to be quite verbose. Sorry none of the pictures are actually mine. I’m not a gifted photographer nor practiced so I figured internet pics would do. I assure you the food we make looks the same.(Wendy thought the peaches was a pic I took). So happy summer everyone and I hope your grilling experiences are wonderful and tasty.

Entry filed under: Nathan's Posts.

Pictures of Summertime Muddy Buddies

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sommer  |  July 29, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    I made grilled pizza with a friend once while Lindsay was deployed. It was the best homemade pizza! You just put the dough on the grill, flip it and then add your toppings while its on the grill let everything warm and melt and mmmmmmm yum!

    Reply
  • 2. Andi  |  August 4, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    Just to let everyone know, all of these were fabulous. They looked great and tasted even better. Nathan and Wendy are some of the best griller’s I know…Well outside of his mom and dad. lol 🙂 Just kidding he beats us both.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


