The Story of Summer Time

May 10, 2011 at 6:11 pm 1 comment

I’ve said a few times before that May 8th would be the perfect day to have the baby.  It’s Mother’s Day, her great grandma’s birthday, just a week before her actual due date like Isaac, the day before Nathan put in for his days off work – just perfect.

Sunday morning when I got up it just felt like she was going to come that day and I told Nathan “we are having a baby today!” Despite my optimism I was in denial when the contractions started.  See I have never gone into labor like a normal person.  My water has broken at the very start both times so I KNEW I was in labor and there was no going back. So waiting to feel “real” contractions was new and confusing.  I kept figuring they weren’t strong enough or not regular enough.  Either way I thought I should just try to ignore them until they demanded my attention. Nathan was the same way.  He figured they would stop.  It wasn’t until I got to church when I had to sit for a whole hour when I started timing them and they were consistently 8 – 10 minutes apart and getting pretty strong.  After sacrament meeting I was convinced enough to call my mom and tell her I might be in labor but after I had gotten up and walked around they stopped for a little while and a friend made me think it was false labor even though they were pretty strong.  It wasn’t until after church when we were at our neighbors house when they got strong enough I couldn’t just ignore them and they were anywhere between 2 and 8 minutes apart.  Funny thing is, even though it was obvious it was the real thing I still had the fear they were going to stop and I was going to get sent home if I went in and Nathan felt the same way.  It just didn’t feel real that labor had started.

Some wonderful friends took the kids and we went to the hospital.  When they finally checked to see how far along I was before I was actually admitted I started explaining that I had only been at a 1 at my last Dr’s appt. so I probably hadn’t progressed too far. So I was completely surprised to hear I was already at a 6! This scared me because I knew I didn’t have too much longer to go and I DID NOT want to do this naturally.  They called the anesthetist first and the doctor second. Then it all went really fast. They got the epidural started (on the second try) then the doctor got there (who was in Moses Lake when he got the call), he broke my water, and then it was time to push – pretty much that fast too. It only took 10 minutes to get her out.  We got to the hospital at 3:30 and had a baby at 5:50.  Good thing I didn’t wait any longer!

Little Summer Lilly Spinelli is 8 lbs 1 oz 20 1/2 in and super cute.  She seems to be more mellow like our other kids but I am still weary of that changing.  It feels like it is our turn to get a fussy one.

Who does she look like? I dunno. Looking at all three kids – they all look like newborns to me.

Ahnna

Isaac

Summer

Recovery has been awesome.  Only one dose of pain pills and then only Ibuprofen since then.  Not painless for sure but not so bad that I need a narcotic.

The kids love her!

Ahnna with my mom and baby- Ahnna is a little Mama!

And one more with Ahnna because she was smiling so pretty for me.

Entry filed under: Summer, Wendy's Posts.

A Beautiful Spring Evening Yes I wrote a post about laundry

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. corinne purnell  |  May 11, 2011 at 7:29 am

    Congrats!!! She is beautiful. And oh my gosh the top picture of you, nathan and summer is perfect!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


