Easter Barbeque Fire

April 25, 2011 at 10:30 am 2 comments

This is after the front was cleaned off.

We had a little excitement on Saturday.  For Easter we had over my parents and Nathan’s parents along with one of my sisters and her two children.  We did a lot of the things that were more work/fun on Saturday so we could try to keep the Sabbath more spiritual. So we had lots of great food for dinner on Saturday including steak. Well the steaks were cut from a huge roast my parents brought that had a nice layer of fat on one side.  Nathan threw about 9 steaks on the grill at once and we all were inside because it was time to get the kids to settle down and let all of us sit for a while.  The grill was about 1 1/2 feet away from the side of the house on our covered patio in the back.  At one point my Mom and sister start talking about the large amount of smoke the can see out the window coming from the grill and if that was normal.  As I slowly hefted myself off the couch to see what they were talking about I heard someone say there were flames coming out of the back about the same time I saw the flames.  At that point all pains with moving a huge tummy were forgotten and all I could do was start yelling NATHAN NATHAN NATHAN as I ran to the kitchen for the fire extinguisher. I don’t know if I ever said “fire”  but he got the idea and ran outside to try and get the grill away from the house.  It was a flaming ball of fire at this point and I don’t know how they grabbed onto it to move it.  We didn’t have to use the extinguisher, they turned off the gas and got a spray bottle of water to get things under control. This made me nervous because I thought if grease was involved in the fire than water was not the best idea but it worked.

The steak was quite burned on the outside but they got them off in time that they were still about medium – medium well on the inside so we got to eat them anyway.  We think it was the number of steaks plus the fat on them that encouraged the flames.  I was sure the side of the house was scorched but the only signs that were left were some cob webs turned black above where the grill was.  Thank goodness!

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

Warning – Pregnancy Whining A Few Easter Pics

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  April 25, 2011 at 10:50 am

    so scary!!!! I’m glad everything turned out alright and that you still got delicious steaks out of the experience.

    Reply
  • 2. spinellifamily  |  April 25, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    not exactly delicious…but edible

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


