Practice Make Progress

January 24, 2011 at 6:03 pm 1 comment

I had a band teacher who would always say practice does not make perfect, it makes progress.

So often I feel like I am just trying to keep up with trying to be a good homemaker, which can get really discouraging, that it is really nice when I able to look back and really see some growth from the last 4 1/2 years.

In our first year of marriage, Nathan once told me I was like a chicken with my head cut off when trying to prepare a meal. I do not deny this. I felt like there was always a ton of things I had to be doing at once and it was so stressful. I was on the phone daily with my mom asking her how to do all the basic things.  Besides boiling noodles I knew pretty much nothing about cooking.  In college there were just a few things I would actually cook and it was only if it was for a date and it always felt like it took FOREVER to prepare and SO much energy to clean up.  One of these dishes was my moms stir fry which was always my favorite meal growing up.

Now, even though I still have lots of room for growth, it can feel soothing.  Like everything is in a rhythm  and I know exactly what to do to get it all done in the most efficient was possible.  I mentioned the stir fry before because it is now my quick and easy meal for when I don’t know what I’m going to cook.  When I had to follow a recipe exactly before in fear that if I  changed anything it would ruin the dish, I can now change it up as much as I want with confidence.

It is the same story with cleaning. Things that use to take me hours to do are a lot less time consuming now.  I have a system for picking up the house and emptying the dishwasher that optimizes the time needed to do it.  A few nights back I was watching Nathan pick up the kitchen (which I am highly thankful he helps do, don’t get me wrong) I realized I just wanted to butt in and do it faster. Of course I can only do it faster because he is out being a great provider for the family and I get LOTS of practice. I’m just happy that I can see now that things like cooking and household things get easier with time.  I remember when it would take a good hour to get Ahnna ready to go somewhere and now I can get both kids in the car in five minutes.

Ahnna is starting to help empty the dishwasher and I realized today I could teach her to do a lot more than she does and she would really like helping to do it too.  I don’t want to end up having a bunch of kids that don’t know how to properly clean a toilet so I should start them young. And I am passing off the cleaning the bathrooms chore as soon as I can because that is the one thing I just LOATHE and dread doing.

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

Sharing Time My Envelope System and Budget Tools

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  February 1, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    I feel the same way about Jeff. Sometimes it drives me crazy how long it takes him to do something around the house. However between the two of us he is a much more thorough cleaner than I. I clean the daily messes and spills, he hauls out the fridge and stove and gets the hard to tackle projects. So I mostly just sit back and admire his hardwork.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


