Eggolicious

December 12, 2010 at 10:18 pm 3 comments

Basted Eggs

Yes I ramble about eggs this whole post but I reached a huge milestone so I must document it.  Four and a half years ago when Nathan and I got married I did not like eggs.  It was one of those foods that I had to try every once in a while to remind myself how gross I thought they were.

Nathan, on the other hand, loves eggs, especially “basted” eggs with a nasty runny yolk. Since he would make eggs often in the morning and made scrambled eggs like I had never seen before I eventually got to the point where I could eat scrambled eggs with lots of cheese on toast.  The cheese and toast over powered the egg taste and since it was a very filling breakfast I ate it often.

A year or so back I tried the dreaded basted eggs that Nathan loves so much and couldn’t do it.  Then about a week ago I was craving eggs for some odd reason but I wanted them done differently because I am dead sick of scrambled so once again I tried basted but it was on toast with cheese and salt. I had one – and then I had two more.  Yes runny yolk and everything but it still had to be on toast.  Today however is Sunday and we are out of bread and I was too lazy to make any bread.  I was craving eggs all day, finally about 8pm I decided to forgo the toast and just do the eggs.  I made just one to try with cheese and salt – and then I had two more.  Yes I did it.  I can eat eggs and like it without bread to help mask the full egg flavor. Even the runny yolk kind which I never thought I would like.  In fact they are SO tasty.  Maybe it’s a pregnant thing but I hope not.

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

Close the door! What are you trying to do, heat the whole block? Dear Anonymous Family

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kierstin  |  December 12, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    I have craved eggs during this pregnancy too! I have never had a dislike for them, but I have noticed an increase in my consumption these last 6 months. I usually make mine the same…runny yoke with cheese, but on a toasted english muffin. Sometimes I’ll even make it into a sandwich and add some bacon. I think I’ll go make one now!

    Reply
  • 2. corinne purnell  |  December 12, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    hahaha eggs were my number one craving while pregnant too, so it must be the hormones!

    Reply
  • 3. Weird. « Spinelli Snapshots  |  June 14, 2011 at 9:12 am

    […] Remember this  post when I talk about how awesome eggs are.  I guess that was a pregnancy thing because basted eggs are now gross again.  Weird.  That is the first time I had something like that happen. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


