The Playroom Makeover Reveal!!

August 2, 2010 at 5:51 pm 7 comments

I know this is more exciting for me than anyone else to get to show the before and after.  I really really wished I had the photography skills I want at this point but I guess my pathetic point and shoot method will have to work this time.  I have this problem where I can’t do anything small.  I tend to go all out right away and thankfully I have a patient husband willing to put up with that sort of thing.  I’m thankful he believed in me and allowed me to do this project.  I had never painted a wall before this so of course I said to myself, “Not only am I going to paint, I’m going to do stripes and wainscoting along to bottom and it is going to be wonderful!”

So below is the before – Purple, no organization, and it felt cluttered even when everything was put away.

So Ahnna doesn't have any pants on but do you know any two year olds (especially potty training ones) that do wear pants all day?

Ya know that onsie fits him perfect now - has it really been that long since I started this project? I think he just grows fast! We've only lived here a month and a half

Ok ARE YOU READY!! Here is the AFTER!!!!!

Organization

Inspiration

I have fallen in love with decorative vinyl. This will be all over my house eventually.  I got everything from leenthegraphicsqueen.com

Those little birds were a free gift with an order - woot free!!

These frames were really cheap black frames I have had for a while now.  I saw a quart of oops paint at Ace that matched my blue perfectly so I got it for $2.50 (original price about $15) It is house paint but I figured it just meant I was overdoing the durability of the frame paint – of course – in a playroom, I don’t think you can over do the durability of anything. So I used a little primer and a little paint and some craft buttons and beads.  I thought it would be a fun activity to do with Ahnna to put on all the beads but she wasn’t too interested so I just did it.  Oh well…

The was a gift from Grandma Spinelli we have had for a while and it went perfectly! Thanks Grandma!

Another free little bird!!

wainscoting...

I first noticed wainscoting at my brothers house.  I really liked all the trim work they had in there and I didn’t know it had a name until I decided I wanted to do something like it in this room.  I saw a tutorial on how to do fake wainscoting with moulding and I was so excited I could do the look without installing the paneling.  Before I did this I couldn’t hit a nail without hurting myself and now look!! I built a lot of confidence in myself making this.  If Nathan will ever let me do wainscoting anywhere else in the house (this playroom took a lot of hubby time away) I’m totally going to do it in our master bedroom and dining area.  I love it love it love it!


Entry filed under: Projects, Wendy's Posts.

Finally potty trained Four Years Today

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  August 2, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    This looks completely amazing! Wonderful. I love every detail. Most of all I LOVE finished projects!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Ana Hopkins  |  August 2, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    It looks so awesome! Did you make the cubby too?
    The wainscotting and the striped are my favorite part.
    Great job!
    Your kids will have so much fun there!

    Reply
  • 3. Leen  |  August 3, 2010 at 4:31 am

    Wow, what an amazing job!

    I love the wainscoting. I would love to put it in our master bedroom and dining room too.

    Thanks for the shout out 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. stefanie giles  |  August 3, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Wow Wendy! You should be thrilled! I would hire you to do one of my rooms even without a license! What would you say the total cost was after everything is said and done?

    Reply
    • 5. spinellifamily  |  August 5, 2010 at 10:54 pm

      I don’t even want to think about the cost lol!
      Here is a run down from off the top of my head. There was a lot of things we didn’t have that added up like a ladder or a stud finder. Little things that people who have owned a home for a long time would already have that we had to get.
      Primer – $15
      Paint – $70
      Larger Moulding – $25
      Smaller Moulding – 37.50
      Painters tape ( you use lots when you are doing stripes) – $12
      Nails – $5
      Cubbies – $40 each (I got two)
      Vinyl birds – 6.50 before shipping
      Vinyl quote – $35 before shipping

      Then of course paint rollers and drop cloth and all that.

      so probably around $350

      Reply
  • 6. Ahh Wall Decals… « Spinelli Snapshots  |  March 7, 2011 at 10:16 am

    […] 7, 2011 I’m in love with decals.  Ever since I did the playroom makeover I love dreaming about what other decals I can get for the rest of the house once I know I […]

    Reply
  • 7. From Playroom to Nursery « Spinelli Snapshots  |  March 23, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    […] the house I chose to totally make over when we moved here, I ended up doing again…  See the playroom makeover here. Getting a baby room ready is just too much fun.  I thought that since I had everything for a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


