Summer ’10

July 18, 2010 at 6:39 pm 3 comments

Well we’ve needed to post for a while now so here is what is going on with us;

Moving is done but setting up the house is still in the works. Wendy has been working on making the playroom nice for the kids. It was a lavender purple when we moved in and now has white and the bottom and two-tone warm yellows on the top. She has been putting in a lot of work into it and it is looking pretty good. I look forward to when it is done so the kid’s toys will be out of the kitchen and back into the play room. You can see the purple in the pic on the bottom.

Ahnna was jumping on our bed and fell off only to gash her head open at the hairline on her forehead and now has 7 or 8 stitches up there. I got to help hold her down in the ER so the doctor could stitch her up. I felt bad for her. She has some strength in that little body of hers. I was sweating beads keeping her from moving. She screamed bloody murder until the doctor was done. When we let her go she sat up with a big smile and said, “All done” and then was happy. She’s a trooper

We had a garage sale with our neighbors and made about 80 dollars plus another 425 from selling my truck. It was having issues with reverse and 5th gear and so instead of fixing it we decided it was time to part ways. I’m gonna miss that little pickup. I’ve had it since ’03 and it’s taken me to a lot of places. It was very reliable until this tranny mess. My dad reminded me that it’s just an inanimate object like anything else. Funny how we feel connected sometimes to cars or houses.

After the garage sale we decided to have the neighbors come over and I attempted my first paella en masse. I was having problems keeping the heat evenly distributed. It is a 22 inch pan. The rice was over cooked at the  bottom and a lil al dente on top but people seemed to thing it was good so hurray. I have a better idea of how to do another one for next time. The first time doing something on this scale is only possible when you have more than 12 or 13 people, which we had. I just wished I could have practiced once first. I don’t like to serve bad food.

We are enjoying the new house and the community we live in. My jobs seems to be going pretty well. We just bought a new TV. It’s a Samsung 46″ 3D capable LED and 240Hz refresh rate. Overall a wonderful picture. We bought a couch 4 weeks ago and should be receiving it this Thursday. I can’t wait because I’m sick of sitting of the floor. The couch can be viewed here:

our couch

here are some other random pics from this summer

I hope everyone is having a great summer!

Entry filed under: Nathan's Posts, The Family.

Child-Proofing Cabinets and potty talk No Shame

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ana Hopkins  |  July 18, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    EVerything seems to be going great for you guys and we are happy for you! I love the playroom idea! The stripes look great and they are hard to get right! Poor Ahnna, I hope she gets better soon! The paella looks wonderful!
    I hope we can get together sometime soon!

    Reply
  • 2. Stacey  |  July 19, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Sad to hear about Ahnna. But now she gets to be one of the cool kids in school saying she got 8 stitches. Also I have an idea for the paella or however you spell it. I saw this on Alton Brown’s show. You put the pan directly on top of the coals. Check out his shows on hulu to get the details. And way to go Wendy you have been busy since we last saw you. The play room looks awesome.

    Reply
  • 3. spinellifamily  |  July 20, 2010 at 8:08 am

    I actually saw that episode of good eats. The only problem with directly on the coals in this case was the fire pit thing was too wide for the pan to effectively cook on. so we had to improvise

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


