Instead of a house tour… How to get really curly hair

June 27, 2010 at 9:31 pm 4 comments

I decided the house is not quite ready to take pictures of and show off.  There is still stuff out I can’t quite get rid of and we haven’t put the poly on the table I made yet and to show that space correctly I need a finished table.  So instead I’m blogging a How To.

This was inspired because I had been thinking about curling my hair like this for a while, in fact it is the only reason why I hadn’t cut it off completely yet. Then a friend wrote a blog post asking how to get her hair curly and I actually had the answer.  I don’t think it was quite what she was looking for but oh well. Everyone should check out her blog for a good laugh, she has great journalism skills mixed with great humor.  In fact I actually think she cringes every time she reads anything I write since I pay little or no attention to grammar or sentence structure.  Lucky for everyone there is spell check or else no one could stand reading anything I write.

On with the how to

This works in every type of hair, I learned this in high school for a play I was in where all the girls needed ringlets.

1.  This is really important, start with just washed totally dry hair.  No gel, no hairspray, and most importantly not wet. Most my life I did this wet thinking it would set better but it does not work nearly as well as when it is dry.

I took this picture mainly so you can see the length difference

Then get sponge curlers and put them in however you like, I just do rows from top to bottom. I use mostly the green ones which are a size smaller than the pink ones.  Be careful going smaller though because they get really tight and can turn to huge fizzy 80’s hair fast.

I just could not put a picture of myself in sponge curlers on the internet, I can hardly be in the same room as my husband when I have them in.

Sleep on them and then in the morning…

You’ve got seriously curly hair.  I couldn’t leave it like this.  It makes me feel like I’ve got a powdered wig on or something.  You can pull the curls apart with your fingers and try to make it look more natural.  It won’t ruin the curls, but now is the time to use hairspray if you wish.  I forgot that I usually do something with a headband when I do this and I don’t currently own a headband anymore so I just put it up.

I just gathered it into a ponytail and twisted it up, then secured it with a large barrette and I was done.

In the end I decided this is a long and hard process. I’m tired of how long it takes to blow dry my hair an it took forever to get the curlers in.  My last reason for keeping my hair long is now gone.  I get a headache if I put it up in a ponytail if it is wet and I just don’t have the time to dry it all the time, even just brushing it is starting to take too long.  Long hair is beautiful but not for mothers with small children.  I love how they like to play in it but I was cursed with a sensitive scalp so it is rather painful.

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

Sunday Some fun in the Sun

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jade  |  June 27, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    I never cringe when I read your posts, and I’m so glad you did a tutorial here to go along with your comment on my blog. Is it sad that I thought my hair was long UNTIL I saw yours? Geesh, I look like I’ve got my pixie cut again compared to you. I’m not even sure if my hair is long enough to put in sponge curlers. But I digress. Can’t wait to see pictures of the house, and I’m going to try the DRY haired sponge curler thing. Mos’ def’.

    Reply
  • 2. Stacey  |  June 28, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    I love your hair Wendy. Especially in your family pictures. But I just cut mine and I am not a fan. Need a new do. Bathroom is almost done!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Ana Hopkins  |  June 28, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    Don’t chop off your hair! It’s so pretty!
    Anyway if you like how-tos like that you should check out Tiffany D’s make up blog. She’s a teeny bit annoying at times but she’s pro at doing amazing videos to teach make up and hair stuff.
    http://makeupbytiffanyd.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  • 4. Dorese @ Dorese's Pieces  |  June 29, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Thanks for the helpful tips! I’ve always done it wet, too. Now I can’t wait to see how it works for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


