Hair Fun!

June 2, 2010 at 1:27 pm 3 comments

There are these big flowers you put in your hair that are becoming pretty popular.  Ahnna is wearing one here that her Grandma got at a garage sale. I think they are adorable, especially the big ones.  I’m seeing people of all ages wear them at church.  At the store they are way expensive.  I’ve seen them for $8 for one flower.  I just couldn’t bring myself to do that.  Today I was at Wal-Mart trying to justify the purchase of one for $5 when I saw a flower and ribbon package that someone hung in the wrong place, when I tried to find where it went so I could see the price I realized it didn’t come from the hair section.  It came from the craft section!  I went over there and it cost under $2! I also saw big flowers with a crocodile tooth clip on the back, its not made for hair but it would absolutely work! Those were $2 too!  So I got one for Ahnna and one for me.

I have never been able to do a real messy bun.  I couldn’t figure out how people made it look so good.  I happened to see a how to video on You Tube and now I finally know how to make a good messy bun.  It seems pretty sad I couldn’t figure out something so simple.  All those wasted years…

Entry filed under: Ahnna, Frugal Living, Wendy's Posts.

Isaac and Orange Juice thecitycradle.com

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rhiannon Leppert  |  June 2, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    I bought Madeleine the orange daisy from Wal-Mart a couple months ago and she wears it all the time. Since that bad boy cost me $5.00, I did the math on making them at home. You can get a box of (12, I think?) crocodile tooth hair clips for roughly $2.00, and a stem of several flowers for cheap (depending on the type of flower you choose). Just get yourself a roll of ribbon if you want to cover the clips, and a hot glue gun and glue away! That way you come out ahead and you have cute accessories for Ahnna and yourself. 🙂 Oh, and that was all at Michaels. Couldn’t find the right clips at Wal-Mart.

    Reply
    • 2. spinellifamily  |  June 3, 2010 at 6:34 am

      Thanks Rhiannon! That’s awesome I’m totally going to make them

      Reply
  • 3. Dorese @ Dorese's Pieces  |  June 3, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Thanks for the video! I have also always wondered how people made it work so well… and wasted all those years worrying about my boring hair not looking… messy enough! Also, we’ve made flower hair clips for young women, and they’re super easy to customize. We bought the hair clips at the dollar store, then found some flowers around that would work together. A lot of the stems have flowers with multiple layers… but even if they don’t, it’s so easy to mix and match! We took the stem and the centers out, then seperated the layers and had the girls put them together however they wanted. Then we had brads to hold the layers together, and jewels and whatever else to just hot glue in the center to cover the brad – or leave it showing if it was cute. Anyway, they were so easy and so cheap to make, and all 25 that were made were completely different from each other! Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


