Going Cloth

May 25, 2010 at 10:45 pm 2 comments

I never thought I would actually do this but I am going to start using cloth diapers on Isaac.  Not only cloth diapers but also cloth wipes.  Yeah, I know.  I always thought it was going to be too much mess and hassle but it’s not as bad as I thought it would be.

Isaac got some virus that gave him diarrhea to the point where he was so completely red after only two times of changing this acidic lava poo that I couldn’t bring myself to put a disposable diaper on him again.  We were at my parents house and I decided he should air out so I came up with this make shift diaper.

That's a dishtowel and two chip clips.

That last shot looks like I am hurting him to get that picture so I just had to show that he was not harmed and pretty happy.

That day my mom and I went out a bought some old school cloth diapers and a few of the new all in one kind at a second hand store.  We used the old kind without the plastic covering to help him air out.  It helped so much, today he looks much better. Even though he is better it made me want to try out cloth diapers.

On a different note Ahnna has shown interest in potty training.  So interested that she off her skirt and threw her diaper in the trash and got water all over the little kiddy bathroom connected to the nursery at church.  The nursery leaders swear it all happened in under a minute.

Changing Isaac to cloth diapers is coming at a good time because I can just throw whatever underwear Ahnna soils into the diaper pail with Isaac’s stuff.  It’s actually relieved a lot of stress of potty training and I think I can do it for as long as I need to now.

This is the plan for taking care of the diapers/underwear/wipes.

I have a trash can with a lid, halfway filled with water and pine sol solution.  Soiled items go in there and every few days I’ll just ring them out and throw them in the washer and dump the water in the toilet.  After doing just the rinse cycle, do a hot water cycle with bleach and it should get out all the stains.

This was my mom’s way of doing it back when there was no disposables and everyone asked her how she kept her diapers so white.

I’m going to make my first cloth wipes tomorrow.  I just got a thing of 18 wash cloths at Wal-Mart for $4.50 and I am going to make a solution from this site.  There are a lot of recipes but I think I like this one the most:

Lanolin & Glycerine

( Lanolin and glycerine moisturize without oil)
1 tablespoon liquid glycerine
1/4 teaspoon liquid lanolin (100% pure)
1 tablespoon baby wash
1-3 drops essential oil
4 cups water

But I think I will start with this one because I have everything already:

Basic Wipe Solution

This basic recipe can be adapted by changing the type of soap or oil.
1/2 cup baby oil
1/2 cup baby wash
2 cups water

Entry filed under: Ahnna, Frugal Living, Isaac, Wendy's Posts.

Public Pool in Spokane? Updated Finally

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brooke Jackson  |  May 26, 2010 at 8:56 am

    We love our cloth diapering decision. We went cloth from the start and now have all the diapers for our 2nd child. For our cloth wipes I got 2 wipe warmers (one for each diaper changing station, the one in her room and the other in the bathroom.) When I wash diapers I also “make” wipes by soaking them in solution and putting them in the warmers. We also consider the bumgenious diaper sprayer a worthwhile investment. It makes the whole experience a little less gross! We bought ours from comfybummy.com. That’s also where we bought our diapers. I have tried many kinds and the bumgenious all-in-ones are by far the best. If you have any questions or are looking for any hints, you can ask and I will try to answer (if I can). I get excited about people using cloth diapers!

    Reply
  • 2. Stacey  |  May 27, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    way to go. I have a friend who makes cloth diapers, if you want to get some new ones for a good price. She is making mine. We came up with a new cloth diaper that has everything I like incorporated into it. Also for the wipes, you can use flannel fabric cut into wipes. Good luck with Ahnna.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


