Frugal Living

May 19, 2010 at 10:49 pm 3 comments

Nathan and I are determined to pay off all student loans in no longer than 5 years.  Currently he has… well a lot, he is not in the room at the moment and I don’t know if he wants me to broadcast our debt across the internet.  This is usually an amount people will take 10 to 20 years to pay.  Paying this off will totally be doable since his job will be helping with a good chunk and we are going to add on a good chunk.

All of you who are thinking to yourself “yeah right” you are just making us that much more determined to do it.  I am going to start blogging all the little frugal ideas I have been coming across.

The first thing I started doing I am really proud of and I get comments on it all the time.  Dave Ramsey suggests that you do all your budgeting in cash and divide it into separate envelopes.  This I could never do because I wouldn’t carry around a bunch of envelopes and I know at some point I would need one and it would be at home.  In other words I just saw a big mess and no progress in money tracking for me personally.  Then I had this great idea…

Is that a wallet?

Nope its a coupon organiser with a new purpose.

My weekly budget!

This has been awesome!  Tracking my money has been so much easier.  Every Monday I withdraw my weekly budget in $5 bills and then divide it according to my needs for the week.  I actually started with a organizer that was just card stock that I got for $1 at Michale’s but it did not hold up to the beating it gets in my diaper bag so I had to invest a few more dollars and get this plastic one at Wal-Mart.

I also got some great ideas from The Grocery Shrink.  I’m looking forward to making all my own household cleaners and reducing disposable stuff we use.  These guys are pretty hard core and it feels overwhelming reading about all the stuff they did to win a Dave Ramsey contest so I am just taking her ideas one at a time to slowly change my habits.

Entry filed under: Frugal Living.

Nathan’s Graduation Public Pool in Spokane?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Trista Teeter  |  May 20, 2010 at 5:02 am

    Hey! We’re big into Dave Ramsey too–it’s sooooo worth it! We’ve been doing it for a year and 3 months and have paid off over $25K in debt, flew the family to WA, saved our Emergency Fund, bought two “new” (as in under $1500 each) cars, paid off Russ’s truck…we still have $12K left of my loan, but Russ started freaking out about savings and so to ease his mind, we’ve been building up our Emergency Fund. That should be finished next month and then my loan will be gone by the end of the year. CANNOT WAIT!!!! It really is amazing–I don’t know what we did w/ all of our money before, lol. I can’t wait to see what it does for us in 3, 8, or 20 years from now. SOOOO grateful we found DR.

    I don’t know if you’re into it much or not, but one of the biggest things that has helped me is couponing–not only does it save me money, but it takes care of that “spending bug” that I get often where I just want to go spend some money. It reeeeally pays off and is an amazing way to build a stockpile for super cheap.

    Good luck! You’re going to love it!!

    Reply
  • 2. Jade  |  May 20, 2010 at 6:43 am

    We’ve been using homemade cleaners for almost 6 months now. I still haven’t found a dishwasher soap I like, but I absolutely swear by the laundry detergent. The recipes I use are under the Tell Me How section on my blog if you’re interested. Or you can just do a Web search and fine MILLIONS of different recipes.

    Reply
  • 3. sommer  |  May 22, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    hey wendy, we use the envelope plan too. i just use my normal wallet and carry only the envelopes i need which is usually no more than 2 per outing. It keeps it easier for me. All of our envelopes are stored together so we just go and get what we need when we leave!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


