Carpentry skills at about 15

April 22, 2010 at 11:16 pm 5 comments

Here is my first project from Knock Off Wood!!  I know right now it looks a lot like a picnic table but it will end up in our dining room when its done.

still needs lots of work, I feel like the sanding will never end

When completed it will look more like this one with modified dimensions.

Knock-Off Wood
So the World of Warcraft nerd in me kept making skill comparisons in my head.  I started a few days ago with my carpentry skill at about a 2.  Thankfully my dad who’s skill is like at 500 was helping me the first day.  Since I understood the directions and I knew how to work the drill I thought he was just there as extra hands to help everything go faster.  He would counter sink and I would work the screws and BAM it was done in under two hours.  Now my mom and dad are out of town and I did the bench by myself and let me tell you what – it is so nice to have someone experienced around to help out.  I ended up breaking two drill bits back to back, I stripped a ton of screws, and my wood pieces just weren’t going together as easily as when Dad was around.  It took me all my time today to get that bench put together and I haven’t even touched it with a sander yet.

So now my carpentry skill is oh maybe about 15.  I am glad I had to do it all by myself because it forced me to really learn things.

Such as:

  1. I do not have the muscle capacity to countersink a hole if it is not in straight-down-to-the-ground angle.
  2. I do not have the muscle capacity to put enough pressure on a screw to get it in without stripping it at least a little bit.
  3. I cannot tell yet if the drill is totally straight when drilling.
  4. I sure can throw a fit and want to give up when it did not turn out the way I planned (luckily I just took a break and came back, thankfully by that time it didn’t feel like the world was ending and I dealt with it)

Despite all of these things I learned about myself, somehow I still made that bench all by myself (just don’t look too closely). I am pretty dang sore.  Building things is a great workout and you are being productive at the same time so that is good incentive to up my skill a bit more I guess,  I’m all about hitting two birds with one stone.

Entry filed under: Projects, Wendy's Posts.

My new favorite blog If I were to do the table again…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dorese @ Dorese's Pieces  |  April 23, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Thanks for the shout-out, Wendy! Your table looks GREAT! The projects I’m most enthusiastic about from their site are a bench for the foot of the bed, a dining table and benches (much like yours… which looks AMAZING, by the way!!!) and a bed. I LOVE that canopy bed! And, of course, there are about a gazillion things on her blog that I would love to build, some day. You know you’re serious when you ask for power tools for mother’s day, right?! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. diana  |  April 23, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    great job getting in there and going at it. i have a friend coming over tonight and we are going to build a book shelve for our kids…just the easy one though from the knock off wood site…the very easy basic one. it will be our first project. we hope to keep going, but we will see how tonight goes. I wish my dad was still around–his level was like a 500 million like your dads–good thing kris knows alot–mt friend and i will probably be asking him a lot of questions. any way, great job–it is looking great!

    Reply
  • 3. Rhiannon Leppert  |  April 23, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    I love it! It looks great! I want to do that too! We need a new dining room table for our breakfast nook, and that looks like it’d be perfect. 🙂 How do I do it?????

    Reply
    • 4. spinellifamily  |  April 23, 2010 at 11:14 pm

      Click on the Knock off Wood link in the post. Some things in the directions are vague, like what kind of screws to use but it is pretty simple to do.

      Reply
  • […] by spinellifamily on August 5, 2010 Finally the end product of this post so long ago.  This was built with  free plans courtesy of Knock Off Wood. The table and benches […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


