My new favorite blog

April 19, 2010 at 11:19 pm 1 comment

I have been thinking non-stop about how I am going to decorate my new house.  I hadn’t found anything yet that I really wanted to buy furniture wise. I couldn’t really buy anything right now anyway because we are going to be really tight for quite a while. Regardless,  I started thinking that maybe I should just build an idea I had for a wall of cubbyholes in the kids play room since it would be well over $1000 to buy.

Then low and behold, after weeks of pondering my blogging friend Dorese decided to make her blog into a resource for smart shopping, crafting, building, everything really and the solution to all my problems was found. Knock Off Wood has awesome inexpensive ways to build things yourself using simple tools.  I got the wood for my first project today and I am so excited.  I am going to go to my parents house tomorrow which is loaded with all the wood working tools I would ever need and I’m getting to work.  If everything goes well and my enthusiasm holds up I have like 10 projects I want to do.  I am going to do them all in a dark brown or black finish to match so use your imagination in the following pictures.

Project 1

Project 2

Project 3, my desk, computer/sewing

I sure hope we do this project

I read that many people will do the bed as their first project.  This one was actually built by someone who reads the blog and not by a manufacturer! You can do it without the canopy too and even though it is originally for a California king, they made plans for every size bed, even a toddler bed!

Here is a white one so you can see the detail better

and there is a ton of other things on there I would love to have!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

We found a house! Carpentry skills at about 15

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. d jones  |  April 20, 2010 at 9:09 am

    I just came across that same blog recently too…and I’m loving it. totally motivating. I want to build everthing there. i love all her ideas. good luck with your projects!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


