Little ER Trip

April 2, 2010 at 9:43 pm 1 comment

Last Sunday I was getting quite a bit of pain in my stomach, upper back and chest.  It came on gradually but started to get pretty bad by evening time.  Nathan suggested I take some Ibuprofen so I gulped down a few tabs.  By the time I got to bed I knew it was going to give me some trouble going to sleep but I got there.  About an hour later I woke up in LOTS of pain.  There was no way I was going to sleep anymore so i went upstairs and doubled my dose of Ibuprofen.  After a few minutes of trying to lay on the couch it came to me that this was not going away and it was so bad I couldn’t sit still so I got Nathan up and we headed to the ER.

After some examination and blood tests I had to get a CT Scan where they put iodine dye stuff in you so they can check for blood clots.  They said the iodine would warm you up and probably make you feel like you are wetting yourself.  Oh man, it didn’t just warm me up, it was hot, and the wetting yourself part?  There was no doubt in my mind that I didn’t wet myself.  I was thinking “oh no! It actually happened!  He just told me it hasn’t happened yet and now I am the first one to actually do it!”  I was utterly surprised there was no wet spot when I moved back to my gurney.

So after all the tests they found nothing.  The doctor came into my room and asked if I had taken Ibuprofen and if the pain seemed to just get worse after that.  To my own surprise I said yes, that is exactly what happened but I hadn’t put two and two together yet.  He concluded that my esophagus was damaged because of acid reflux (I have not felt heartburn since before Isaac was born) So he told me no more Ibuprofen, gave me some acid reducer and pain killers and told me to eat nothing but bland foods for the next few weeks.  Well tonight I forgot and had tacos.  So I am sitting in this chair trying not to move so the pain will go away.  I think it is starting to work…

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

Wow this is nuts New Family Pics

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mimi  |  April 6, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    wendy, that sounds awful! For a minute it sounded like you had a heart attack! Be healthy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


