ACL Reconstruction

Yesterday I had the opportunity to have my acl replaced using grafts from my hamstrings. To be truthful, it wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it was going to be. I fell asleep in the operating room very quickly, and the next thing I remember was waking up in recovery.I definitely felt it in my knee and I still do but the pain is very manageable, especially with Percocet on board. I looked up what they do on youtube to see kind of what would be goin on with my leg. It was interesting to watch. I have the orders now of not getting up unless I have to go to the bathroom and I have to keep my leg as straight as possible. The doc said that if I can straighten my leg by Physical Therapy, then I will have a much easier recovery. So now I get to enjoy sitting on my butt for 4 more days and then hopefully by then i will get to take a shower.

Leave a comment