O Say

November 21, 2009 at 9:55 pm 2 comments

For the longest time there was just one song I would sing to Ahnna before bed.  It is a long time favorite hymn of mine called “Abide with Me; ‘Tis Eventide.”  I thought it an appropriate bedtime song.  The first verse goes like this:

Abide with me; ’tis eventide.  The day is past and gone;

The shadows of the evening fall; the night is coming on.

Within my heart a welcome guest, Within my home abide.

O Savior stay this night with me; Behold ’tis eventide.

O Savior stay this night with me; Behold, ’tis eventide.

 

One evening not too long ago she started singing along.  It was so precious.  It didn’t even occur to me that she was actually listening to the words.  Now she will ask to sing that one.  She calls it “O Say” as in “O Savior.” She sings along with I am A Child of God now too.  Before she started singing I almost stopped singing to her at night because I was tired and wanted to put her to bed as quickly as possible…. I think I’m going to sing with my kids at night forever now.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Othello Interview Trip Oops

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Annika Woodrich  |  November 23, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    We still sing with our kids at bedtime and Trey is 6! When Trey was Ahnna and Rachel’s age he could sing all 9 verses to Follow the Prophet and Book of Mormon Stories. By the time he was a Sunbeam he could sing all 13 Articles of Faith. He would ask me to sing over and over again. They really do listen and I think it’s really good for their spirits and their minds. Yes, there will be nights that you just don’t feel like it, but do it anyways! The Spirit will witness the truth of what you sing to them. Great job, Wendy!

    Reply
  • 2. Stacey  |  November 24, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    I sing that song to Evalie too. I absolutely love that song. I has been a strength through some rough nights. Its beautiful and I love when children sing songs. Even the ones they make up. Its so cute. BTW we are actually in Spokane now, not Moses Lake. So give us a call and vise versa and lets get our girls together.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


