Mommy of two

July 11, 2009 at 3:33 pm 3 comments

bw

CIMG1459

Back in high school when we were learning about Mark Twain I remember him saying something to the effect of that when you have lots of children your love gets divided between them and somehow you have less love to go around because there are more people (he was a lot more eloquent than that though). Even though I knew it didn’t work like that, it was hard to imagine how exactly it would be.  Would it be too much to handle for me?  I figured God gave me Ahnna because he knew I was a pansy that still wanted to be a mother of as many as Nathan will let me get away with so he figured he would start us off easy.

Now that Isaac is here its not that I have to “divide” love between them like I only have so much to go around, its more like my capacity for love grew.  It grew in a way I totally did not expect either.  I love having two kids!!  I LOVE having a little baby again.  I thought that it might feel like I had to start all over like having to read a long book over again but no, its like reading my favorite book over again and having it just different enough to enjoy it like the first time.  I love soaking in the moments with my new little one since I understand a little better how short this time is.  It’s strange I know but when I get up with him in the night it feels like a pleasure.  I forgot that I enjoyed that time with Ahnna too.  Its only when they get older and really can sleep through the night but for some reason won’t that I start to get irritated with it. I appreciate Ahnna more lately too. Even though she is in a slightly more frustrating age it is easier for me to see that she is also not this young for very long either and I can enjoy my time with her more.

Yes I am exhausted and I want to be in bed as early as I can every night because I feel like I’m going to fall asleep standing up but its a good I-feel-like-I’ve-accomplished-something tired.

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

You don’t want to hear “oh crap” when getting a har cut Isaac Update!!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachael Ritter  |  July 11, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    I went through the same feelings, I felt like my capacity of love grew and also that I loved Seth more — I began appreciating Seth more because he of his new role as a big brother and how wonderful and patient he was. I only hope baby #3’s experience will be similar!

    Reply
  • 2. Kris and Diana  |  July 12, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Well said Wendy! I know what you mean about not knowing if or how you could love a child more than your first–I really questioned that before we decided to have another one–Heavenly Father must have heard my questioning because he sent me two more at once, and it is amazing how that love seems to grow and it’s like those little people were never not a part of the family.

    Reply
  • 3. Mimi  |  July 12, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    That’s exactly how it is wendy, great post. I want to see my little new nephew and cute little neice so bad! They are so cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


