The Details

June 7, 2009 at 10:19 pm 5 comments

I thought that the anticipation you get when you get closer to your due date would not be so bad the second time around.  No, it was all the same.  I thought about it 24/7, wondering how it was going to start.  The anticipation for having a baby is way worse than Christmas ever was as a child.  At least you know exactly what day Christmas comes on every year.

029

I had a doctor’s appointment on Thurday where he informed me that I was at 3.5 cm and could go very soon.  He stripped my membranes (helps labor along) and then after that I had a baby shower.  The whole time I could tell my contractions were different than the ones I had been having but they were still irregular and stopped when I stopped moving around.

At almost 10:30 pm Nathan and I were laying in bed and he had his hand on my tummy.  I had a contraction and then there was something that felt like I was getting punched a few times in the cervix and it was rather painful.  I guess it was Isaac saying “enough of this I’m outta here” because it made my water break, and boy did it break.  Serious gushing about every 10 minutes or after moving too much until I actually had him.  With Ahnna it was just a little trickle, I think I preferr it that way instead.

Anyway so everything went really fast.  I got the epidural as soon as I could which I am SOO happy I did.  At first I thought I should wait since everything was bareable but by the time the guy came to give it to me contractions were MUCH stronger.  After MAYBE a half hour of bliss I started to have breakthrough pain, got the nurse finally after another hour because it got to be too much. She checked me and I was ready to push, so I got another dose of drugs (YES! I was pain free for everything after that) and we just waited for the doctor to get there which added another hour on and Isaac was born after about 10min of pushing.

I must say pushing took a lot more concentration this time because I was much more numb than the first time but I still managed to get it to work for me.  I would be so happy if the rest of my kids came this way.  It was just so quick and even though there were painful times, it was practically pain free considering how much pain I could have been in.

Having Isaac is definitely different than Ahnna.  Ahnna gave me more of a very spiritual feeling and I was very much in awe of her.  With Isaac it is more of a “hasn’t he always been here?” kind of feeling.  I love having a little baby again, I forgot about their little noises and other little things that only tiny babies do. He is so special.  I feel like a little more of my family is here and I’m excited to be a mom again.

So far he is just like Ahnna.  Sleeps a lot and doesn’t do a whole lot of actual crying but he squeals a little more than Ahnna.  It is such a cute little squeal.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Isaac Nathan Spinelli Davids vs Goliath

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lacey  |  June 8, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Congrats!! He looks adorable, I am so glad to here the pain-freeness of the whole thing! What a relief… see all the worrying for nothing. Now you get to put all that cute bedding to use! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Trisha Goodman  |  June 8, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Cograts! he looks very cute!

    Reply
  • 3. Mimi  |  June 8, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    what a cutie! I cannot wait to meet him!

    Reply
  • 4. Stacey  |  June 14, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    Congrats WENDY! I can’t wait to see him. If you need anything. I can be there in two hours.

    Reply
  • 5. Rachael Ritter  |  June 25, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    Congratulations! Don’t mind me “spying,” 🙂 saw your link on facebook … he’s a cutie, makes me excited to have this one out soon!– I also love the epidurals, no pain all the way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


