Parenting Adventures (This post is not for someone who can’t handle poo talk)

June 2, 2009 at 9:28 pm 3 comments

This is a post Ahnna may kill me for if she ever finds out.  So Ahnna has not quite recovered from her sickness so I had to collect a stool sample.  The pathologist told me I couldn’t dig it out from the diaper because the fibers from the diaper would mess up the tests.  She suggested that I put plastic wrap in her diaper but that didn’t go over so well.  She usually goes at about the same time every day when she is regular so I just decided to put her on the potty at about that time. I thought she was too cute and had to take some pictures

Chillin' on the potty with her popcorn

Chillin' on the potty with her popcorn

Mom do you mind? I'm on the phone

Mom do you mind? I'm on the phone

We put on Elmo’s Potty Time DVD and she sat with a full cup of juice and some popcorn on her potty.  She even sat there the entire video and then some after that but she didn’t so much as piddle a bit the entire time.  So it figures that when I finally want her to go poo I get nothing.  If she drinks juice she always goes soon after drinking it but I got nothing today.  So finally I put normal underwear on her with a diaper over it to avoid the fibers of the diaper from getting on the poo and waited that way.

Finally she did it during her nap.  I am thankful that it took so long because by the time I could collect the samples Nathan was home and provided some much needed help I did not anticipate.  I had to get four separate samples, two of which had to be about a tablespoon of the stuff.  Yeah, gross.  If it was anyone but my kid (even – no wait – especially myself) there is no way I would have had the stomach to get what I needed.  Since it was Ahnna, yeah it was gross but for some reason really amusing at the same time.  I’m happy I found the humor in it.

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

A Family Activity? Isaac Nathan Spinelli

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mimi  |  June 4, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    oh goodness, hope she gets better soon. The things we will do for our children.

    Reply
  • 2. Maryanne Watson  |  June 8, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Congrats!! He is so cute! 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. Maryanne Watson  |  June 8, 2009 at 2:55 pm

      oops! I meant to put this comment under Issac’s birth post! LOL! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


