School Ugh…

May 2, 2009 at 9:23 pm 2 comments

Really I do like school.  In fact since I have stopped going I feel like I am slowly losing any intellect that may remain.  I think I am going to be one of those people who will always take some sort of continuing education class for the rest of my life just because it feels good to always be learning about something.  The “School Ugh…” referrers to the following:

I spent 2.5 years at the University of Idaho in Graphic Design.  I figured I could change my formerly four year degree into a two year degree here at Spokane Falls Community College since they also offer Graphic Design.  I thought great I could take whatever classes that might remain and be done within the year.  If that went well then I would do another two year degree in Early Childhood Education.

Unfortunately NONE of my credits transferred except an English class.  I was looking at all the courses I would have to take and they are EXACTLY the same as the ones I already took.  Waste of time and money if I was going to do it over again.  If I was going to have a career in it than I might consider it but I just want to finish for the sake of finishing.  I do have other options like going to Eastern but I need to take a math class at a community college to transfer there anyway and who knows if we will live here by the time I qualify to go there.

I wish, especially with the huge cost of education in a bad economy, that credits could transfer more easily. I think it is ridiculous that I would have to retake so many courses because I was out of state (just a few miles from the border).  As of right now I think I might just do some early childhood education classes.

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

Nesting Continued Good News, Maybe even meant to be…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rhiannon Leppert  |  May 4, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Have you looked into online learning? Or do you have an interest in it? The reason I ask is because I took my 2-yr degree at SCC, and those credits (law enforcement) would not transfer to EWU for a BS degree. So, I did some research and found that my credits directly transferred to Kaplan University-Online, among multiple other schools. Why? Because they’re not a brick-and-mortar institution with single-state requirements. 🙂 So, if you’re at all open to online learning, that might be a good alternative. And the cost is slightly less than EWU, or at least it was when I started 2 years ago.

    Good luck!

    *Rhiannon

    Reply
  • 2. Mimi  |  May 5, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    that stinks wendy! I agree with Rhi, I did my AA online while the kiddies were little at home. There are plenty of options. Look at BYU even, they are very mom-friendly, especially with family science, childhood education degrees. Or like Rhi said, some sort of online university, but make sure you read the fine print!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


