Win-Co made me Homesick

February 24, 2009 at 2:41 pm 2 comments

winco

Its not my favorite question when someone asks me where I grew up because I lived in one spot on an average of 4 years at a time my whole life so one place does not stick out over another.  I never know exactly what to say.  Usually I just say that my parents are in Lewiston Idaho and most of my childhood was spent in western Washington.  Just in case anyone is curious here is the real run down:

  • Born Anchorage Alaska – lived there 3 years
  • Mountlake Terrace Washington – 6 years
  • Cheyenne Wyoming – 4 years (moved to three different houses in that town so three different schools)
  • Anacortes Washington – 3 years
  • Lewiston Idaho – 3 years
  • Moscow Idaho – 2 years
  • Pullman WA – almost 2 years
  • Spokane WA – 10 months

Anyway, there is this great grocery store in Moscow called Win-Co.  It is really cheap and you can buy stuff in bulk and really it needs to be a nation wide store because no one should be deprived of its wonderful prices.  Well Spokane just got a Win-Co and Nathan and I went to it for the first time yesterday and it felt like we were in the Moscow/Pullman area again.

I never missed a place very long where I have lived.  Nothing has felt like “home,” enough to miss it.  In my perspective home is where you make it so it comes along with you when you move.  But let me tell you what, being in Win-Co made me homesick for Pullman.  Maybe it’s because we had a happy social life there, or maybe its because that is where my little family began but I sure missed it.  I thought I would leave Pullman and be happy because it is a tiny little town and I like the have options when shopping and things like that.  The feeling sure took me by surprize.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Arachniphobia Upate Clip of the Week

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jade  |  February 24, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    It’s funny, when I moved to Moscow from Rexburg, the only place I felt at “home” to begin with was Wal-Mart. And then when I served my mission, again it was Wal-Mart where I felt most familiar. Gotta love that identical layout wherever you go.

    And FYI, Moscow/Pullman is a great place to miss. So many people can’t wait to get out of here, but I think you pinned it — it’s where so many of us start our families, and there’s nostalgia there.

    Reply
  • 2. Dorese  |  February 25, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    I’m right there with you on all counts. I’m considering telling people I’m from Nebraska or something, just to avoid “well I grew up in Ohio, but went to jr. high and high school in Lewiston, ID. I lived in Moscow for 4 years, and my parents live in Michigan. And I’ll probably live in Blackfoot for the rest of my life.” So where’s home? Somewhere in the middle. I lived for 14 years in Ohio, but Lewiston is where I have more friends and more conscious memories… just no reason to ever go there again. We have WinCo stores in Pocatello and Idaho Falls, and I love shopping in them, but they’re still not the same as the Moscow one. Pocatello’s is just too small and dingy and crowded, so I hardly ever shop there. It’s ridiculous of me. And I miss Moscow tremendously, though I couldn’t wait to leave when we were there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Most Recent Posts


