New Moon Thoughts

September 21, 2008 at 11:16 am 4 comments

WARNING: This post contains some important spoilers to the Twilight series, DO NOT READ if you even plan on reading them.

So like I said, I am reading the Twilight saga again and it is great the second time too. New Moon is much better the second time around for me.  The first time I was so upset that Edward was out of the picture I blazed through it until he came back and I almost didn’t care for the story at all if Edward was not there. This book was my least favorite and all I remembered from the first time was that I really like the introduction of the Volturi and Jacob was cool and all but he doesn’t hold a candle to Edward.

This time I liked it much better.  Even the story with Jacob was better since I wasn’t just waiting for Edward to get back.  I liked the references to Romeo and Juliet they made and how it related Romeo and Juliet by ending the way you always want Romeo and Juliet to end.  If Juliet only woke up 10 second earlier everything would have worked out and the whole time you are watching or reading the end of the story you are thinking she’s alive just wait a little longer!!  This had all the same (or surpassing) exciting tension and it makes you feel good at the end instead of depression that everyone died.  I don’t care for stories that make you feel depressed.

That is something I really like about Stephine Meyer, she makes it seem like there is no possible way something will work out and then it does perfectly.  Like how a lot of the time Bella sounds crazy like trying to make warewolves and vampires friends or keeping a baby that is obviously going to kill her, in the end she was right. I’m happy she did not have the desire to make the endings of her books depressing in Breaking Dawn or The Host even though it looked like there was no hope.  I think it is so clever when an Author can do that without it being some ridiculous cop out ending.

So the last two books are lent out right now and I may go nuts.  Part of me just wants to skip to the last book because that is by far my favorite. I want to start writing about it but I think I will wait until it is fresh in my mind.

I just recently heard about Midnight Sun and an unfinished manuscript getting out.  Since I heard that she WAS going to finish writing it after all I thought I should wait until the real one comes out to read it.  But now I have this lull of no Twilight to read so I think I might just read the manuscript anyway because I don’t think it will affect what I think of Midnight Sun when it comes out.  Go to http://www.stepheniemeyer.com/ to get the low down on that.

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

Beach Day! Growing up

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. corinne  |  September 21, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    I totally agree that reading the second time is much better. For some reason you pick up on a lot of little things you missed the first time! I love it!!! Cant wait for the movie to come out on November 21!!!

    Reply
  • 2. dorese  |  September 22, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Wait.. you heard she is going to finish Midnight Sun after all? Where did you hear that?!? I think you should read the unfinished manuscript… it is SO GREAT. It made me want to read Twilight again to compare notes. (And Twilight is my favorite of the series…)

    Reply
  • 3. spinellifamily  |  September 22, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    At the end of the little explanation about Midnight Sun on her web site, her editor or someone wrote that due to the incredible response when she said she was not going to do it, she changes her mind. However there is no time line for the project right now.

    Reply
  • 4. Dorese  |  September 23, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Oh wow, that’s great! I read it as soon as it was available, so I hadn’t been back to see it since. Thanks for the info!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


