Good Idea Gone Bad

July 16, 2008 at 9:47 pm 2 comments

I’ve wanted to learn everything about cake decorating for a while. With Ahnna’s birthday getting closer I thought I might do some practicing with fondant. I love the clean look fondant has and I would love to eventually become comfortable with it. Here are the top five things I did wrong when I decided to work with fondant for the first time ever.

  1. Made it myself
  2. Didn’t research how to work with it
  3. Did not have proper tools
  4. Made it myself and
  5. Made it myself

My kitchen was a huge mess. I hate the feeling of gritty materials like flour and sand and powdered sugar. Not only did I have to endure kneading in powdered sugar but there was powdered sugar everywhere, I still think the floor is a bit sticky and I mopped it twice. I ended up spending so much time on making the fondant that in the end I didn’t have the energy I wanted to have decorating.

I plan on trying fondant again but I’m going to buy it and read up on it a bit so I can just focus on the fun stuff. So below are my practice cakes. The original designs I had went out the window so I just doodled really. I don’t know what I am going to do with them. I’m so sugared out from earlier I can’t think about eating them. I don’t know where the “sweet dreams” writing came from. The cake looked like a night sky and there is no occasion for the cake and I wanted to write something…

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

Another Reason why Rent Here is So Cheap 9 Months of Ahnna!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pandora  |  July 17, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    I think they look totally awesome. The stuff looks great. A suggestion for the getting too worn out making it to have fun, make the parts you can a few days before you decorate. I had to learn this when decorating cakes. You can bake the cake ahead a few days and plastic wrap the layers and freeze them. Then make any of the frosting flowers, such as roses, before as well. They keep for awhile. For the day of putting it all together just leave the actual frosting and any icing decorations that must be put directly on the cake. All this makes it a lot more fun. You can also practice doing flowers and things with frosting on sugar cookies. This eliminates the need to frost the entire cake but lets you practice decorations. I like eating them a lot better too.

    Anyway, I think you did an awesome job. They look great. I especially like the night sky one.

    Reply
  • 2. corinne  |  July 21, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Hey Nathen and Wendy, this is your cousin Corinne i found your blog through sommers, and i thought i would say hello. I hope everything is going great for you guys you little girl is so cute! I have only seen a few pictures of her when she was first born and i loved seeing the updates. You should check out our blog http://www.thepurnellsblogg.blogspot.com and i am sure that kris and diana would like to hear from you too, you can get to there blog from ours. Keep in touch, love ya corinne & jarom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


