Juno Rant

May 30, 2008 at 9:29 am 4 comments

Rant:

Nathan and I heard from one of our friends that Juno was SOO FUNNY. In fact she said that about fifty times in about 15 minutes of talking about it. I wanted to see it because it was “SOO FUNNY” and also because it was pro adoption comedy and I think our society really needs to encourage adoption rather than abortion. There are too many people willing to kill their child instead of giving it to a couple who is dying to have a kid. My sister-in-law and her husband are trying to adopt. It is unbelievable to hear how unpopular adoption is and how many women have an abortion every minute. Of course abortion is a whole different post so I will stop going down that road.

Anyway I was highly disappointed with this movie for the following:

  1. It got so drummed up to be “SOO FUNNY” that our expectation was too high and most the humor was off color
  2. Even though it promoted adoption, it still was adopted to someone who didn’t have a husband and I am sick of the idea out there now a days that suggests that a father is not important.
  3. It showed a twisted way the female mind thinks about sex. All the girls in that movie were talking the way a guy would about sex and like it or not men and women think about it VERY differently and I hate this trend in the media that shows that women should think about it the same way men naturally do. I may not like chick flicks either but at least chick flicks will still show that women want intimacy out of an emotional connection as opposed to “just for fun.” and I won’t go into how great it would be if a movie out there placed in modern times would show a couple who decided to wait until they got married to be intimate. Heaven forbid that kind of self control.

You may now be saying “oh its JUST a movie Wendy loosen’ up.” I’m not trying to sound self righteous. I have movies too that I loved that had no redeeming qualities about them, for example Moulin Rouge, probably ten times worse than Juno. I guess this one just struck a chord for me since I’m close to a couple trying to adopt and I recently had a baby and I value clean movies any age can watch nowadays. Such as:

  1. Stardust
  2. Prince Caspian
  3. The Spiderwick Chronicles
  4. Harry Potter
  5. Evan Almighty

All great imaginative movies, very entertaining, very clean, good values.

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts. Tags: , , .

Twilight Endings and Beginnings

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mimi  |  May 31, 2008 at 8:14 am

    Wow Wendy, Thanks, Summer wanted to watch that movie because she heard it was funny. We probably won’t now. It is sickening how this world is becoming so loose about those things and that teenagers and even younger talk about that kind of stuff like they are pros. Once you hear it or see it, it is like a stain that won’t go away, it may fade, but you always have the images in your head or the words. I totally agree with you.

    PS Moulin Rouge was one of my favorite movies…because I think it was saying even for people in those situations, they still deserve love, and are capable of it.

    Reply
  • 2. BG  |  June 3, 2008 at 3:00 am

    Juno rocks! I’ve watched it 4 times in 2 days. As a mother of a teen boy and young daughter movies like this break the ice when it comes to real life. Teen pregnancy is real, why not address the issues with brilliant, off color humor instead of pretending the world is all sugar coated and easy.

    Reply
  • 3. spinellifamily  |  June 8, 2008 at 11:33 am

    I don’t want to start anything over this but I just wanted to say. I never said that people should pretend that the world is “sugar coated and easy.” Teen pregnancy is a very real issue and parents are the ones that need to teach their children morals and values. My biggest disappointment with the movie was that she gave the baby to a (soon to be) single mother and teaches that teens will have sex out of boredom and there is nothing wrong with that.

    Reply
  • 4. Melissa  |  June 11, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Hey Wendy,

    I just wanted to correct you about Moulin Rouge. Moulin Rouge has many redeeming qualities, the most important being the theme of the movie. Moulin Rouge is based on the premise that unconditional love can save even the vilest of sinners (Christian’s love teaches Satine to respect and lover herself). I’ve been criticized for having this opinion of Moulin Rouge. But after you’ve seen it over 100 times and written a 10 page paper on the story behind the story, you’ll begin to understand the deeper meanings. Can you tell that I LOVE MOULIN ROUGE! Otherwise I agree with your post, except I did find Juno to be very funny.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


