Kicked out

March 29, 2008 at 4:55 am 2 comments

 

bruce01c.jpg

Nathan had an “Evening of Excellence” that he had to go to tonight to thank the people that granted him his scholarship this year.   He didn’t know if family was invited or not so Ahnna and I went with him and  I thought I would just drop him off if the meeting was only for him.  Turns out it was this big formal evening dinner thing with assigned seating.  So since Nathan signed up he had a seat and I didn’t so I was happy to drop him off but a lady told me not to leave and they were going to try and work something out.  Eventually another lady came out started rambling on how if would be best if I didn’t stay.  I said its fine but she just kept talking, I think its because she didn’t want to be rude so she just kept trying to explain herself, but then she said something that ruffled my feathers.  She said “Plus we just really don’t want the baby here.”  She needs to learn when to stop talking.  I understand that it was a big formal night and babies might not be appropriate but I guess I am just too used to church meetings/activities where you always bring your baby with you.  Plus its not like she would be running a muck and she is pretty quiet.  I felt like saying to her “Well I didn’t want to come to your stupid dinner anyway, if you don’t want my baby here than I don’t want to be here either.” I refrained from the remark, but I left quickly.

Our ward had a chili cook off tonight too so I went to that.  When I got there there were lots of kids and I felt like I was at home, where my type are welcome. :p

So Nathan later reported that the first 2.5 hours was socializingand people drinking wine. Then the meal finally started and the people with the scholarships were never mentioned.  So no big loss there.

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts.

New email A lazy afternoon……..

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mimi  |  March 29, 2008 at 5:14 am

    Sounds like Nathan should’ve skipped out on the snooty dinner and went to the chili cookoff…or maybe not…

    On a more serious note, don’t take what one small-minded person said or did to heart, not all people are like that nor was it representative of the group as a whole! Isn’t it nice to go someplace you are wanted and welcome?

    Reply
  • 2. amberlynnlane  |  March 29, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    I wish babies were accepted everywhere – except perhaps bars. Babies shouldn’t be exposed to smoky places. Mothers of little ones that have to go to work should be allowed to strap their baby on in a snuggly and just take the baby to work with them. That would be so much better for the mother, her finances, and the baby too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


