Proud to be a Latter-Day Saint woman

March 18, 2008 at 5:22 am 2 comments

A few years back I went on a date with a very intellectual guy who proceeded to tell my over almost the whole course of the date why he didn’t go to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints anymore. During this really long conversation I asked him what he thought about women in the church. He said to me that “women in the church are oppressed, they just don’t realize it.” To this day I wish I had said to him, “Obviously, you have never been a woman in the church.”LDS women are not oppressed. There is no place else where I have felt more love, belonging, respect and self worth than being part of this church.

Women struggle with self image so much but because I am a part of this church I know that I am a Daughter of God and I am of infinite worth. Because of this church I understand how important my family is, and how my role as a wife and mother is key. There are so many meeting especially for women in this church that are made to support, strengthen, and help one another. We have the largest womens organization in the world called the Relief Society. I just went to a big program called “Time Out for Women” and it was amazing!

If you want to know how women are really treated in the church, go to:

LDS.org/Gospel Library/Gospel Topics/Women in the Church

and read for yourself.

Entry filed under: Wendy's Posts. Tags: , , , .

Baby baby St. Patricks Day

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dorese  |  March 18, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    That was so great, Wendy! Thanks for sharing your thoughts; it’s amazing how many people really think that about us, but never bother to ask the women themselves.

    Reply
  • 2. Mimi  |  March 20, 2008 at 2:39 am

    Amen to that Wendy. That’s the first thing I think of when I think of Sheri Dew: oppressed, NOT! That word never enters my mind, I feel fortunate to be able to NOT have to work so I can be home to be a full time mom to my children, the best job in the world is to be a mom. I love teaching school, but at the end of the day, being a full time mom and homemaker/wife is my number one choice, hands down.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


